MobileIron Cloud Help

Users > User Settings

User settings define device registration options. There are several types:

  • Device Registration Setting: Sets authentication by password, PIN, or both.
  • Device Limit Setting: Sets the number of devices a user can register.
  • Terms of Service Setting: Sets the terms of service displayed to the user for each device registration.

 

You can edit the default settings for the All Users group or add custom settings and assign them to other user groups.

 

To edit the default setting

Click the Edit link for the setting that has the lock icon. You cannot delete a default setting.

To add a custom setting

Click the Add setting for specific user groups link.

To delete a custom setting

Click the x icon.

To require a password, PIN, or both

  1. Edit the default Device Registration setting or add a new one.
  2. Edit or assign a name to identify the setting.
  3. Type an optional description of the setting.
  4. Select a registration type from the drop-down:
    • Password Only
    • PIN Only
    • Password and PIN
  5. For PINs, include the following:
    • PIN lifetime: How long the PIN remains valid
    • PIN length: The number of characters
    • Allow user to request a new PIN (when forgotten or expired)
  6. Click +Add for at least one user group to which you want to distribute the setting.
  7. Click Save.

 

To limit the number of devices per user

  1. Edit the default Device Limit setting or add a new one.
  2. Edit or assign a name to identify the setting.
  3. Type an optional description of the setting.
  4. Select a limit from the drop-down.
  5. Click +Add for at least one user group to which you want to distribute the setting.
  6. Click Save.

 

To define the terms of service displayed

  1. Edit the default Device Limit setting or add a new one.
  2. Edit or assign a name to identify the setting.
  3. Type an optional description of the setting.
  4. Select the Prompt the user... option.
  5. Type a title and text to display.
  6. Click +Add for at least one user group to which you want to distribute the setting.
  7. Click Save.

 

Note: Once accepted, the terms of service cannot be deleted. However, you can turn off the prompts for new registration by clearing the Prompt the user... option.